Back to basics

The scale has not been a friend the last few years.  It keeps going up, up, up.  Yes, I like to eat.  Well, that’s not true.  I LOVE to eat.  I eat healthy.  Just a little too much.  Working long hours has not helped.  I used to be at the gym every day at 5 am for an hour to an hour-and-a-half.  EVERY DAY.  But for the last 2-1/2 years I get to the office between 6:30 and 7 am, and don’t get home until 7 pm.  Long days, with no motivation left over to work out, except for the occasional dog walk to ‘clear the head’.  I also manage to ride my road bike during most weekends, and the mountain bike on Wednesdays after work (although that is definitely not a regular thing).  I also play a little golf (yes, I walk).

No, I’m not complaining.  There are a lot of people who don’t work (through no fault of their own), so I am grateful for what I have.  I do miss the work-outs though.  And the skinnier clothes that I used to fit in.

Lately I’ve been thinking about ‘going back to basics’ and acting like a young-un again.  I went to the store and bought a basketball.  It reminded me of my high school and college days, when I would play with my friends until dark.  And I would sweat.  And I would feel exhausted.  I remember I used to sleep better.  Sure, I had other pressures, but I was fitter than I am now.  So I took my brand new basketball to the neighborhood park this morning, and shot around for a little over 30 minutes.  The last time I did that was before my younger daughter was born.  Almost 20 years ago.

No, I didn’t make many.  The few pure ones, though, felt good.  No, they felt awesome!  And I was drenched!  Sure, I’m a little sore (knees, back, arms), but I was in ecstasy!  I can’t wait to do it again with the ‘kids’ at work.  I know I need to take it nice and slow, and I will.  But ‘playing’ is so much more fun than ‘working out’ or ‘training’.  Playing seems like, well, playing…like what kids [ought to] do!

Leave a Reply

